Happy Tuesday

In keeping with the tone of my last post about gluten free & dairy free staples I keep on hand, I thought I’d put my money where my mouth is , so to speak.  I’m going to make posting simple meals that include pantry staples a regular occurrence on the blog.  This is a typical, easy going kind of meal I’d make for my Sweetie and I . There was plenty for two with enough left over for lunch the next day.

From my kitchen to yours, complete with pictures. (I’ve been working on my photography skills)

Pork tenderloin roasted with Kozlick’s Balsamic Fig and Date Mustard served with vegetable risotto.
And, yep, that’s my kitchen, complete with fridge magnets. : )

BFD w Risotto mis en place

The ingredients for this meal were things I had on hand and include two of my pantry staple items.

pork tenderloin
red pepper
zucchini
asparagus
scallions
Aborio rice
lemon
Kozlick’s Balsamic Fig and Date Mustard
Kirkland Gluten Free Chicken Broth
olive oil
kosher salt

For the Risotto;
In a medium size sauté pan, heat 3 tablespoons olive oil.
Sauté red pepper until it begins to soften, add asparagus and zucchini. Continue to sauté 2-3 minutes. Add rice to pan, stirring to coat all grains in oil. Add broth to pan, a little at a time, allowing the liquid to become absorbed between additions, stirring often. Risotto should take about 20 minutes. Serve with lemon wedge.

Risotto in pan 2

For the pork tenderloin;

Preheat oven to 400°F oven
Remove the “silver skin”, the membrane running along one end of the meat, from the tenderloin. If this is left on it will become tough and unpleasant when cooked.

In a medium size bowl, mix 2 tablespoons Kozlick’s with equal parts olive oil. Rub all over tenderloin, place meat on a parchment lined baking tray. Season with  a little salt. Place tray in oven and roast, turning once, until instant read thermometer shows internal temperature is 71°C/160°F. Approx 45 minutes for a 1.5 lb tenderloin. Remove from oven and let rest before slicing.

BFD pork 3

Risotto

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

