Back on the (Fitness) Wagon

Recently, in an attempt to shed the few pounds that I’ve  accumulated over the winter and firm up a few things, I’ve  intensified my workouts.

I’ve always been a bit of a fitness nut. I cycle. I run. I lift. I will do just about anything that involves physical activity, well, except maybe step classes…I don’t know why I can’t seem to get into them.  : S

Anyway, I’m sure it was little surprise to those who know me that I took up a “Squat Challenge” that had been circulating through my Facebook peeps. I’m currently up to 150 squats, in addition to the chest presses, the bicep curls, triceps “skull crushers and kickbacks, the shoulder work etc. Oh and I can’t forget my favourite; the spin classes I attend each week.

Needless to say, I’ve been feelin’ the burn. I’ve also been feeling hungry.

Trying to keep good quality, nutrient dense food at the ready for after a workout session used to be really easy. Before I went off gluten and dairy, I’d keep a bunch of protein bars on hand for post workout noshing.  These days I have to put a bit more thought into it. I always have a stash of fruit and nuts but sometimes bananas and almonds aren’t enough. Often I do my workout after 4pm so that by the time I’m done, I’m famished and likely to put just about anything in my mouth. So, I’ve been stocking my fridge with prepared nummies that can easily be tossed with some leftover rice, greens or into a wrap.

This is a list of what’s in my fridge right now:

Hard boiled eggs
Shredded Chinese cabbage
Artichoke hearts, tossed in olive oil and kosher salt, roasted
Homemade guacamole

Sweet potatoes, skin on, tossed in olive oil and kosher salt, roasted
roasted sweet potatoes

Black beans, simmered in chicken broth and dried Ancho peppers
Ancho Mayo
Ancho Mayo
Homemade corn tortillas
If you’ve never made your own corn tortillas you gotta try. They are so easy and full of amazing flavour.
Check out this video
http://allrecipes.com/video/3119/corn-tortillas/detail.aspx?prop24=RD_VideoTipsTricks
Make up a batch and keep ‘em in the fridge. Throw one in a pan for a minute to warm, then fill.

What do you keep on hand for  gluten /dairy free post workout munching?

2 thoughts on “Back on the (Fitness) Wagon

  1. My wife uses sweet potatoes in her squash soups. It makes the meal interesting. The savory flavor mixes with the sweet giving the tongue something unique and fun to experience.

    • I like the way your wife thinks! I’ve always been a fan of mixing sweet with savory. I love salt on my dark chocolate and sweet potatoes with my spicy smokey black beans : )

Leave a Reply

