All Purpose Gluten Free Flour, Part 1

I have always been a baker. I have baked a batch of cookies, muffins or something at least once a week for close to thee decades. When my sons were very little, I would bake mini muffins to bring with us on play dates. Later on, when my boys started school, there was a strict “No Nuts” policy in effect. This was before the grocery stores began to carry a plethora of guaranteed peanut free baked goods, so I baked to add “fun stuff” to their lunches. At one point I could whip off a batch of mini muffins in the time it took to brew my morning pot of coffee. : )

Then I went gluten free…

In my early gluten free days, I went through a massive case of what I can only describe as “baker’s withdrawal”.

It seemed like every time I wanted to bake something as simple as a chocolate chip cookie, I had to have a  shop full of specialty flours. Each recipe I found required a different blend. It was frustrating, to say the least. I wanted to find one blend I could use for many of my recipes. I had tried a few gluten free “all purpose blends”, but they tended to be have a “beanie” after taste or the textures were gritty. I didn’t want either in my treats. I also wanted a flour blend that I could have on hand in larger quantities.

Today I thought I’d do a post on one of the most important ingredients I keep in my kitchen.

All Purpose Gluten Free Flour

I have two, hands-down, guaranteed to work, favourite flour blends that work as cup for cup substitutions for wheat flour.

The first one is my go-to blend for cookies, sponge style cakes, thickeners and waffles. It is also a major ingredient in my muffin recipes. The key is using a very fine grind of brown rice flour. Use this blend, cup for cup in place of wheat flour. However, if the recipe you use this in has salt as an ingredient, I would omit the salt as there is salt already in this blend. I use this blend in:

GF/DF Spiced Orange Chocolate Chip Cookies

GF/DF Happy Cranberry Quinoa Cookies

Dee’s “Quick & Easy” GF/DF Breakfast Waffles

All Purpose Gluten Free Flour

tapioca flour
brown rice flour
potato starch (not flour!)
3 xanthan gum
salt

 

An excellent flour blend for cookies, waffles and light cakes!

An excellent flour blend for cookies, waffles and light cakes!

6 thoughts on “All Purpose Gluten Free Flour, Part 1

  1. I’m liking these gluten-free recipes you have. My wife make gluten-free flour, too. She uses it all the time for pancake batter. She also adds flax seed to the mix to give the dish some extra nutritional value. I love it with maple or molasses syrup!

    • Hello and thanks for the ‘like’. I’ve heard of King Arthur’s flours, but haven’t seen them in my local stores to try them. I did check out their website and it sounds like their flour is similar to mine.

  2. Pingback: Gluten Free Flour Part 2 | Dee'Lectables

  3. Pingback: Gluten and Dairy Free Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins | Dee'Lectables

Leave a Reply

