Gluten Free Flour Part 2

Hallelujah, it’s Wednesday!

Last week, in  All Purpose Gluten Free Flour Part 1  I posted about my favourite go-to  gluten free all purpose flour recipe.

I also mentioned that it was one of my two favourite recipes, implying, of course that there is a second favourite recipe.  Gluten Free Higher Protein Blend All Purpose Flour

This is a great blend for  tea and yeast breads, cakes and muffins. I use it as the main flour and in addition to my All Purpose Gluten Free Flour. Basically any recipe where I want to have a chewier, more bread like texture, I add some of this mix.  I regularly add some to almost all my muffin recipes and I even add a bit to my waffle recipes, if I plan to use the waffles for sandwiches.

As with my All Purpose Gluten Free Flour Blend, it is key to use a fine grind of brown rice flour. Brown rice is a good source of protein and delivers a better flavour and more nutrients than white rice flour, getting a fine grind provides a smooth texture. In addition to the brown rice flour, I use quinoa and chickpea flours as both are also good sources of protein.

Gluten Free Higher Protein Blend All Purpose Flour

tapioca starch
brown rice flour
potato starch
quinoa flour
chickpea flour
xanthan gum

Measure ingredients into a large bowl, in order  listed. By putting the tapioca starch on the bottom, the other ingredients will help keep this very light “flour” from “poofing up” all over the place. With a large whisk, thoroughly blend all ingredients. Store in an air tight container and refrigerate.

Yesterday, in my post Daily Prompts: Red Pill Blue Pill I included a photo of these muffins.

Today I give you the recipe:

Wake Me Up! Gluten & Dairy Free Chocolate Espresso Muffins

1 1/4 cups All Purpose Gluten Free Flour
1/4 cup Gluten Free Higher Protein Blend All Purpose Flour
1/4 cup cocoa
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 cup canola oil
1/2 cup espresso or strong brewed coffee, cooled
1/2 cup rice milk, or other dairy free milk
1 large egg
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup chocolate chips
muffin cup liners

Preheat oven to 375°F.

In medium size bowl, combine first six ingredients, whisk to combine. Add in all the wet ingredients and mix well.
Fold in chocolate chips.  Scoop batter into lined muffin cups. Bake in preheated oven until toothpick inserted into centre of muffin comes out clean, approx. 20 min for large muffins, 10 minutes for mini muffins.

This batch will yield about 18 large muffins. Store in an air tight container 2-3 days.  These muffins, wrapped individually,  freeze very well.

Wake Me Up! Gluten & Dairy Free Chocolate Espresso Muffins

Wake Me Up! Gluten & Dairy Free Chocolate Espresso Muffins

One thought on “Gluten Free Flour Part 2

  1. Pingback: Gluten and Dairy Free Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins | Dee'Lectables

Leave a Reply

